Saturday, 2 August 2014

Western Ghats

A UNESCO World Heritage site and one of the eight hottest bio-diversity hotspots in the world, the Western Ghats is a mountain range, spread over 1600 km in the western side of India. It stretches north to south along the western edge of the Deccan plateau. Also called as the ‘Great Escarpment of India’, the mountain range starts from the border of Gujarat and ends at Kanyakumari, the southern tip of India.

The mountain range extends over Maharashtra, Karnataka, Kerala and Tamil Nadu and it consist of thirty nine properties including wildlife sanctuaries, national parks and reserve forests, which have been designated as World Heritage Sites. It also consist several hill stations, cities, lakes that are popular tourist destinations.

The Western Ghats is divided in to several hill ranges, such as the Sahyadris, Nilgiris, Anaimalai hills and Cardomom hills. The Sahyadhri range consists of numerous hill stations like Matheran, Mahabaleshwar, Panchgani, Amboli ghat. The Nilgiri range is home to famous hill stations like Ooty, Coonoor, Wayanad, Coorg, Idukki and Munnar.

Anaimudi peak (8842 ft) on the Tamil Nadu-Kerala border is the highest peak in the Western Ghats. Other prominent peaks are Mullayanagari (6,317 ft) and Kudremukh (6,110 ft) in Karnataka; Kalsubai (5,427) in Maharashtra and many more.

The area of the Western Ghats is ecologically sensitive to development and was declared as an ecological hotspot in 1988. The mountain range is home to over 5000 species of flowering plants, 139 mammal species, 508 bird species and 179 amphibian species which are not found elsewhere in the world.

To protect the endangered species and restrict human activities, the government has established many protected areas including two biosphere reserves, 13 national parks and several wildlife sanctuaries. The Nilgiri Biosphere Reserve is the largest protected area in the Western Ghats. 
Covered a area of 5500, the reserve comprises  evergreen forests of Nagarhole, deciduous forests of Bandipur National Park and Nagu in Karnataka and adjoining regions of Wayanad, Mudumalai National Park and Mukurthi National Park in the states of Tamil Nadu and Kerala respectively.

The Western Ghats is home to several endangered species such as the Malabar large-spotted civet, lion-tailed macaque, which are seen in the Silent Valley national Park and Kudremukh National Park. Other endangered animals are the Asian elephants, which can be spotted in the Nilgiri Bio-sphere reserve. Other popular mammals found in the Western Ghats are tiger, sloth bear, leopard, wild boars, sambar, black panther, Great Indian Hornbill.

Of the 508 species of birds found in the Western Ghats, about 500 can be seen in Karnataka’s Bhadra wildlife sanctuary, which is located at the northern end of the Malabar ranges. Birds like Nilgiri wood-pigeon, white-bellied shortwing and broad-tailed grassbird, grey-breasted laughingthrush and many others are seen in the Western Ghats. About 102 species of fish are found in the water bodies of Western Ghats.

Hill stations like Ooty, Mahabaleshwar, Lonavla-Khandala, Munnar, Ponmudi, Wayanad are tourist hotspots in Western Ghats. Mathikettan Shola National Park, Pampadam Shola National Park, Begur Wildlife Sanctuary, Chinnar Wildlife Sanctuary, Thattekad, Phansad Bird Sanctuary and Karnala Bird Sanctuary are some of the wildlife reserves located in the Western Ghats.

Kodaikanal, Lovedale, Coonoor, Yercaud, Meghmalai, Valparai, Kumily, Thenmala, Sulthan Bathery, Ranipuram, Mattupetty, Wayanad, Idukki, Vagamon, Nelliyampathy, Vythiri, Ponmudi and Chikmagalur are some of the prominent towns located in the mountain range.
 Where to stay :

Western Ghats stretches over 1600 km and is dotted with several towns. Some of the towns in Maharashtra, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka boast of budget, mid-range and luxury hotels.

Please Contact us tour & for more Quires : 

No comments:

Post a Comment