Thursday, 17 April 2014


Agra is worldly famous as being home to one of the Seven Wonders of the World-the Taj Mahal, the symbol of love., Taj Mahal is the Crown of the Agra City, the elegy in white marble, the poem of dedicated love, Mughal Emperor Shahjahan had built Taj Mahal in memory of his beloved wife Mumtaz, the most magnificent monument in the world for her as the mausoleum. Mumtaz passed away, during the birth to Shah Jahan's child and the love was enduring, still Taj expresses the true love of the legendary couples. Built serenely on a raised marble platform on the shores of River Yamuna, 20 years time had been spent to complete the great monument and the skillful workers and artisans were brought from all over the world, mostly from Central Asia. It is said that about 20,000 workers had been devoted their hard work and skills to built Taj, the key person to behind the architecture of Taj was Isa Khan, he was originally from Shiraz in Iran
Agra is quite famous for its superb inlay work on marble and soapstone by craftsmen who are successor of those who worked under the Mughals arts. The city is also known for its carpets, gold thread embroidery and leather shoes. Besides the Taj Mahal the other tourist attractions are Agra Fort, Sikandra, Ram Bagh and Itmad-Ud-Daulah, Fatehpur Sikri 40 kms from Agra, once upon the capital of Mughal Emperor Akbar for some time. It is said that Agra city name was derived from Agrabanad, a forest that finds mention in the epic Mahabharata.

Climate: (deg C)-Summer- Max.45, Min.21.9; Winter- Max.31.7, Min.4.2.,Rainfall: 66 cms (June to September), Best Season: October to March.

Places Of Interest:
Agra Fort,Taj Mahal, Moti Masjid , Itmad-ud-Daula's Tomb.

Fatehpur Sikri – 37kms, Mathura - 56kms.

Reach -
By Air: Agra is well connected with Khajuraho ,Delhi, and Varanasi.
By Rail: Agra is connected by rail with major cities.
By Road: Agra is connected to Delhi- 204 kms, Jaipur- 237 kms, Khajuraho- 395 kms, Mathura- 56 kms, Gwalior- 110 kms, Bharatpur- 54 kms, Lucknow- 257 kms.

No comments:

Post a Comment